UK-Korea workshop on SCES 12-13 April 2012

Thursday 12 April 2012, 10:00

The 4th UK-Korea workshop on Strongly Correlated Electron Systems (SCES) will take place at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, 12-13 April 2012. The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers from Korea and the UK who are active in this field and explore the potential for future collaborations.

To register, please email Dr Devashibhai Adroja

There is no registration fee to attend the workshop and all reasonable costs for UK speakers and participants (travel and accommodation) will be covered by the organisers.

ISIS has been awarded a Global Partnerships Fund grant by the British Government to organize a series of UK-Korea workshops on SCES and spintronics in Korea and UK. Two successful workshops on SCES were organised in 2010-2011 and a third workshop on spintronics took place in February 2012.


Thursday 12th April 2012

10:00-10:30 Coffee and tea/Registration in R80 Foyer

10:30 - 12:30  Session 1 : Exotic Superconductivity

                      Chairman:  Keith McEwen

             10:30   Emergent stripe order in antiferromagnetic oxides

                        Andrew Boothroyd (Oxford University)

             11:00   Theoretical aspects of Rashba-BEC condensate

                         Jung Hoon Han (Sungkyunkwan University)

             11:30  Magnetic excitations in cuprate superconductors –                      Where are we now?      

                        Stephen Hayden (Bristol University)

              12:00   Volovik effects and pairing symmetry of the iron-based              superconductors

                        Yun Kyu Bang (Chonnam National University)

 12:30 – 14:15      Lunch in R18, Exhibition Hall

 14:15 – 15:45      Session 2 : Heavy Fermions

                   Chairman:   Yun Kyu Bang

            14:15   Superconducting states in CeCoIn5 and related             compounds

                        Elizabeth Blackburn (Birmingham University)

            14:45   Textured states in heavy Fermion compounds

                    Tuson Park (Sungkyunkwan University)

            15:15   Are current theories for itinerant magnetism in f-electron metals correct?

                        Andrew Huxley (Edinburgh University)

 15:45 – 16:15      Coffee and tea

16:15 – 17:30 Session 3 : Low dimensional magnetism

          Chairman: Ross Stewart

              16:15   Electronic ordering in sodium cobaltate

                          Jon Goff (RHU, London)

            16:45   Electronic origin of giant magnetic anisotropy in                      LuFe2O4          and Fe1/4TaS2

                        Jaehoon Park (Pohang Univ. Science and Technology)

            17:15   Anisotropy in the magnetic and dielectric properties of                     LuFe2O4-d single crystals with varying oxygen             stoichiometry

            Geetha Balakrishnan (Warwick University)

 19:00 – 21:30      Conference Dinner in R22 RAL Restaurant

Friday 13th April 2012

09:15 – 10:45  Session 4 : Exotic Magnetism

                       Chairman:  Nikitas Gidopoulos

            09:15   Orbital angular momentum based origin of Rashba effect                and its implication

            Chang Young Kim (Yonsei University)

            09:45   Quantum order-by-disorder near criticality and the secret              of partial order in MnSi

                        Andrew Green (University College London)

            10:15   Anisotropic Dirac fermions in a Bi square net of AMnBi2             (A = alkaline earths)      

                        Jun Sung Kim (Pohang University of  Science and Technology)

10:45 – 11:15      Coffee and tea

11:15 – 12:15  Session 5 : Strongly correlated electron systems

                         Chairman: Jaejun Yu    

            11:15   Inelastic neutron scattering study of Fe-based              superconductors

                        Toby Perring (ISIS, RAL)

            11:45   Non-equilibrium steady state of electric field-driven              strongly correlated electrons  

                        Kwon Park (Korea Institute of Advance Study)         

 12:15 – 14:15      Lunch in R18, Exhibition Hall

 14:15 – 15:15  Session 6 : Transition metal magnetism in low dimensions

                       Chairman:  Jon Goff

            14:15   Spin dynamics in the frustrated         honeycomb antiferromagnet Na2IrO3

                        Radu Coldea (Oxford University)

            14:45   Quantum phase transition between topological and                  normal insulators in

            A2IrO3 (A=Na, Li)     

            Jaejun Yu (Seoul National University)

 15:15 – 15:45      Coffee and tea

15:45 – 16:45 Session 7 :  Multiferroics

             Chairman:  Jorge Quintanilla

            15:45   X-ray resonant scattering from 5d transition metal oxides

                        Des McMorrow (University College London)  

            16:15   Spin dynamics of BiFeO3 measured by inelastic            neutron  scattering

                         Je-Geun Park (Seoul National University)

16:45          Close of Meeting

17:00    Transport to Heathrow and Didcot       

Workshop programme

Event type Seminar
Start date and time Thursday 12 April 2012, 10:00
End Friday 13 April 2012, 17:00
Location Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire, UK
Maximum Audience 150
Bookmark and Share
Skip to the top of the page