User Committee

The User Committee represents the ISIS user community on all aspects of ISIS operations.

Committee members are drawn from ISIS user groups and ISIS senior managers. Users may pass any comments or concerns they have about ISIS to the user group representatives or contact the Chairman of the ISIS User Committee, Emma Barney.

The ISIS User Committee (IUC) terms of reference can be found here.

Committee Meetings

IUC meetings are held every six months, normally after the ISIS Facility Access Panel Meetings in June and December. 

Recent meetings:

9 December 2016 Minutes available

10 June 2016 Minutes available

4 December 2015 Minutes available

5 June 2015 Minutes available

12 December 2014 Minutes available

14 July 2014 (joint with Facility Access Panel Chairs) Minutes available. This meeting was to discuss changes to proposal access mechanisms and other user processes

13 December 2013 Minutes available

7 June 2013 Minutes available

7 December 2012 Minutes available

15 June 2012  Minutes available.

For the 15 June 2012 meeting, the IUC requested feedback from the user community on experiences of using ISIS.  We are grateful to all community members who responded by providing comments.  The IUC found this a very worthwhile exercise, one that will be periodically repeated.  A summary of comments and responses is available here.


Committee Membership

ChairEmma BarneyUniversity of Nottingham
IUG1 CrystallographyPeter SlaterUniversity of Birmingham
 Emma McCabeUniversity of Kent
IUG2 Liquids & Amorphous MaterialsPaul BinghamSheffield Hallam University
 Emma BarneyUniversity of Nottingham
IUG3 Large Scale StructuresAiden HindmarchUniversity of Durham
 Tim KnowlesUniversity of Birmingham
IUG4 ExcitationsKelly MorrisonLoughborough University
IUG5 Molecular SpectroscopyChristoph SalzmannUniversity College London
 Roberto SenesiUniversità di Roma
IUG6 MuonsNicola MorleyUniversity of Sheffield
 Martin LeesUniversity of Warwick
IUG7 EngineeringHongbiao DongUniversity of Leicester
 Catrin DaviesImperial College London


ISIS User Representatives. 

R McGreevyISIS Director
Z BowdenISIS Experiment Operations Division Head
D GreenfieldISIS Instrumentation Division Head
P KingISIS Spectroscopy and Support Division Head
S LangridgeISIS Diffraction Division Head
A KayeISIS User Programme Manager
Bookmark and Share
Skip to the top of the page