B T M Willis Prize 2016
29 Mar 2016



The IOP Neutron Scattering Group and the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry have established a prize for outstanding neutron scattering science.




The prize is named in honour of the founding chairman of the Neutron Scattering Group, Professor B T M Willis. It is intended that the prize will be awarded annually, usually in conjunction with the annual Neutron and Muon Beam Users Meeting, NMUM. The winner would normally be expected to give a short presentation at NMUM.​

The prize is awarded to an individual in recognition of a single outstanding piece of work, or a longer term coherent body of work, in the application of neutron scattering to a significant problem in physics, chemistry, materials science, earth science, the life sciences, or engineering, or alternatively in recognition of a major development in neutron scattering instrumentation or techniques.

The recipient of the prize will normally be a young scientist, i.e. in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks) e.g. following the award of a first degree, who has made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of physics / Chemistry / Biology in the UK or Ireland.

The deadline is 23:59 Monday 25th April 2016.

Please forward your nominations to IOP/RSC Neutron Scattering Group Secretary Dr Katherine Thompson (k.thompson@mail.cryst.bbk.ac.uk).