ISIS Molecular Spectroscopy Science Meeting 2016
09 Nov 2016



The ISIS Molecular Spectroscopy Group will hold its next science meeting at the Cosener’s House, Abingdon on the 9th and 10th of November 2016.

​​​​​​ISIS Molecular Spectroscopy Science Meeting 2016

The flyer for the meeting can be found here.

This year’s meeting will focus on the following thematic areas:

Catalysis & Energy

Nanostructured Materials

Modelling and Simulations

Atomic Quantum Dynamics for Materials Science

Soft Matter & Biology

Confirmed invited speakers include:

Dr Piers Barnes, Imperial College London

Dr Javier Dawidowski, Centro Atomico Bariloche

Dr Iain Hitchcock, Johnson Matthey

Prof Angelos Michaelides, University College London

Dr Andrea Piovano, Institut Laue-Langevin

Dr Tilo Seydel, Institut Laue-Langevin


The first session of the meeting will start at 13:00 on the 9th of November (Wednesday) following registration and lunch. The final session will end at 12:30 on the 10th of November (Thursday), followed by a farewell lunch. The precise timetable will be provided closer to the date of the meeting.

ORAL CONTRIBUTIONS: Keynote lectures will be followed by a number of oral presentations on a given thematic area. These slots are primarily intended for early-career researchers willing to present their work in the supportive atmosphere of our user group.

POSTERS: A poster session will also take place at the end of the first day. Anyone wishing to present her/his work is warmly invited to make a contribution. These are suited, but not limited, to undergraduate and early-stage doctoral students.

Those who wish to give an oral presentation or present a poster should submit the title on the registration website below. The organizing committee will draw up the final programme based on all submission received. Everyone will be given an opportunity to speak at the meeting, since those presenting posters are encouraged to give a one-minute poster advert to everyone.


Registration is now open and will close on the 14th of October 2016. To register, please click here.

We look forward to seeing you in November!


Organizing Committee:

Dr Christoph Salzmann, University College London

Prof Roberto Senesi, Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata

Prof Felix Fernandez-Alonso, ISIS Neutron and Muon Source

Dr Giovanni Romanelli, ISIS Neutron and Muon Source

Dr Svemir Rudic, ISIS Neutron and Muon Source



The MSSM 2016 will be immediately followed by MDANSE 2016.