UK Neutron & Muon Science and User Meeting 2020
28 Feb 2020
- Philip King



The UK Neutron and Muon Science and User Meeting will take place at Warwick University from 8-10 June 2020.

Students at the NMSUM Student Day 2019

​​Students at the 2019 NMSUM meeting


​This meeting is a chance for UK users of neutron and muon beams to hear about latest science using these techniques, together with facility updates and other news of interest to the community.  This event ​has now become a regular feature of the year for UK scientists using neutrons and muons, with over 300 attendees over recent years.

Registration for the meeting will open shortly​ and will close on 30 April 2020.

Registration is free to researchers at UK universities, and we will also cover reasonable travel expenses for UK researchers to attend the meeting.

  • Mon 8 June (11.00am onwards) will be a day for students who use neutrons and muons in their work – a chance to meet other students, and to learn more about neutron and muon techniques, and about the research that fellow students are doing.
  • Tues 9 June (09.00 onwards) will be the main science day, split into five themes with talks on latest results from members of the community following a plenary session.
  • Wed 10 June (09.00 – 13.00) will be a chance to hear about facility updates and other news of interest to ILL and ISIS users

A detailed programme for the meeting will be available in due course.

Confirmed speakers so far include:

Magnetism and Superconductivity: session organisers Goran Nilsen (ISIS), Navid Quereshi (ILL)

  • Kelly Morrison (Loughborough)
  • Emma McCabe (Kent)
  • Nathan Satchell (Leeds)
  • Stephen Blundell (Oxford)
  • Nathan Giles Donovan (Glasgow)
  • Madeleine Georgopoulou (UCL/ILL)
  • Jian-Rui Soh (Oxford/EPFL)
  • Jon Goff (RHUL)

Engineering: session organisers Tung Lik Lee (ISIS), Lukas Helfen, Alessandro Tengattini (ILL)

  • Premek Beran (ESS)
  • Lukas Helfen / Alessandro Tengattini (ILL)
  • Alex Lunt (Bath)
  • Tiestino Minniti (CCFE)
  • Philip Earp (UKAEA)
  • Robin Woracek (ESS)
  • Nikolay Karjilov (HZB)
  • Burkhard Schillinger (FRM-II)

Biosciences & soft matter: session organisers Matthew Blakely (ILL), Leide Cavalcanti, James Doutch (ISIS)​

  • Heloisa Bordallo (Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • JonOtto Fossum (Trondheim, Norway)
  • Natasha Shirshova (Durham)​

Functional Materials: session organisers Mohamed Zbiri (ILL), Franz Demmel (ISIS)

  • Phil Salmon (Bath)
  • Fabrizia Foglia (UCL)
  • Ivana Evans (Durham)
  • Jhuma Sannigrahi (Loughborough)
  • Joao Cabral (Imperial)
  • Gavin Irvine (St Andrews)
  • Jin-Chong Tan (Oxford)​

Chemistry & Catalysis: session organisers Stewart Parker (ISIS), Peter Fouquet (ILL)

  • speakers to follow


Contact: King, Philip (STFC,RAL,ISIS)