Chemistry Nobel Prize awarded to Li-ion battery researchers
09 Oct 2019



The 2019 Nobel prize for chemistry has been awarded to three scientists for their work in developing lithium-ion batteries.




​John B Goodenough of the University of Texas at Austin, M Stanley Whittingham of Binghamton University and Akira Yoshino of Meijo University will receive equal shares of the prize, which was announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm on Wednesday 9 October.

Throughout Li-ion battery development, the ISIS neutron and muon source has hosted many research groups investigating the properties of the materials used, and how to improve them, as neutrons are an ideal tool for studying light atoms, such as lithium, and muons can be used to study how charge moves through a material. For a summary of some of our battery research highlights, read our article on the battery revolution

Our research in this field is continuing to grow, with two groups of ISIS researchers recently being awarded funding from the Faraday Institution for their research projects aimed at facilitating improvements in cheaper, safer and more efficient batteries for applications including electric cars.​​

Contact: de Laune, Rosie (STFC,RAL,ISIS)