New Starter Explainer
20 Feb 2019



A brief guide to people who are new to site and would like to know a bit more about how we fit in to STFC, UKRI and the Harwell Campus.




If you're going to be here as a user - you'll need to read our user information pages before you arrive. 

If you're here as part of a placement or studentship, f​or more practical information on what to do once you've​ started, please visit the New Starter pages of our intranet. ​​​

The ISIS Neutron and Muon Facility is owned and operated​ by the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC). 

STFC is one of nine councils that form UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). The others are:

  • ​Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)
  • Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
  • Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  • Innovate UK
  • Medical Research Council (MRC)
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
  • Research England
STFC locations.png
The Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL) is where some of STFC's scientific facilities are based​. As well as being home to the ISIS Neutron and Muon Source, it also hosts:

RAL is based on the Harwell Campus in Oxfordshire. The campus is owned by a partnership between STFC, the UK Atomic Energy Authority and private sector partners. They run networking and professional development events​ through their Harwell Connect network, and have recently launched a network for early-career campus employees. This is called the Harwell Connect Nxt Gen network and can be found on LinkedIn. ​

Contact: de Laune, Rosie (STFC,RAL,ISIS)