ISIS users recognised by the Royal Society of Chemistry
26 Jun 2020



Regular ISIS users have received awards from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) for their exceptional achievements in advancing the chemical sciences through their work.


​​A number of ISIS users have received awards in the RSC's recent announcement​: Congratulations!

Dr Sihai Yang, from the University of Manchester is the winner of the Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize, for pioneering applications of X-ray and neutron scattering techniques to porous materials science and catalysis.

Professor Martin Schröder, also from the University of Manchester is the winner of 2020 Nyholm Prize for Inorganic Chemistry, for his seminal work on the design, synthesis and characterization of porous metal–organic framework materials for substrate binding and selectivity.

Dr Yang was also the winner of one of the 2019 ISIS Impact Awards, and works in collaboration with Professor Schröder and ISIS beamline scientists. “The collaboration with ISIS has been so important to us in taking our science forward," said Professor Schröder; “We are delighted that our team efforts are being recognised by the RSC, and thank the ISIS scientists very much for their support."

Professor Richard Catlow from University College London and Cardiff University won the 2020 Faraday Lectures​hip Prize, for the development and application of computational methods in conjunction with experiment as powerful and predictive tools in the physical chemistry of solids.

Dr Thomas Bennett, who was a recipient of an ISIS Impact Award in 2018, from University of Cambridge​ was the winner of the 2020 Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize, for his contributions to the non-crystalline metal–organic framework domain, including synthesis and characterization of the first liquid and glass MOF states.​

Professor Bonnie Ann Wallace, of Birkbeck, University of London is the winner of the 2020 Khorana Prize, for the pioneering development of biophysical methods and bioinformatics tools to enable the characterisation of ion channel-drug molecule complexes.​

Contact: de Laune, Rosie (STFC,RAL,ISIS)