UK Neutron & Muon Science and User Meeting 2019
08 Feb 2019
- Jointly organised by ISIS and ILL



The UK Neutron and Muon Science and User Meeting (NMSUM) will take place at Warwick University from 29 April - 1 May 2019.

NMSUM meeting 2019

​​​​​​​​​​​Attendees at the UK NMSUM meeting in 2018.


​This meeting, jointly organised by ISIS and the ILL, is a chance for UK users of neutron and muon beams to hear about latest science using these techniques, together with facility updates and other news of interest to the community.​  It will take place at the Warwick Conference Centre, in The Slate​, with accommodation i​n near-by rooms.  This meeting is held annually; over 300 people have registered for the 2019 meeting.

Registration for the meeting is now closed. 

  • Mon 29 April (11.00am onwards) will be a day for students who use neutrons and muons in their work – a chance to meet other students, and to learn more about neutron and muon techniques, and about the research that fellow students are doing.
  • Tues 30 April (09.00 onwards) will be the main science day, split into five themes with talks on latest results from members of the community. 
  • Wed 1 May (09.00 – 13.00) will be a chance to hear about facility updates and other news of interest to ILL and ISIS users.​
The BTM Willis Prize, awarded by the Neutron Scattering Group of the IoP and RSC, will be presented at the meetnig.
​Full details of the meeting, including travel, registration and accommodation details, and the latest version of the programme, can be found in the InfoPack for the meeting NMSUM_InfoPack_2019.pdf.

Confirmed speakers to-date include:
  • Jenny Nelson (Imperial, plenary)
  • Paolo Rech (​UFRGS, Brazil, plenary)
  • Dave Barlow (Kings London, plenary)

Functional Materials (​Session organisers: ​Martin Jones, ISIS; Mohamed Zbiri, ILL)

  • Jacqui Cole (Cambridge / ISIS)​​​​​
  • Anne Guilbert (Imperial)
  • Hany El-Shinawi​ (Sheffield)
  • Christian Masquelier (Picardie)
  • Maria Diaz-Lopez (ISIS)​
  • Adrian Porch (Cardiff)
  • Abbie Mclaughlin (Aberdeen)
  • Paul Anderson (Birmingham)​

Biosciences & Soft Matter (Session organisers: Armando Maestro, Matthew Blakele​y, ILL; Max Skoda, ISIS)

  • Anthony Higgins (Swansea)
  • Svetlana Antonyuk (Liverpool)
  • Lindsay McGregor (Kings London / ILL)​

Magnetism & Superconductivity (Session organisers: Ross Stewart, ISIS; Navid Querishi, ILL)

  • ​Aiden Hindmarch (Durham)
  • Mark Laver (Birmingham)
  • Simon Riberolles (Warwick / ILL)​
  • Lucy Clark (Liverpool)
  • Deepak Singh (ISIS)
  • Manila Sonvilay (Edinburgh)
  • David Boldrin (Imperial)​
  • Alex Gibbs (ISIS)

Engineering (Session organisers: Thilo Pirling, ILL; Tung Lik Lee, ISIS)

  • John Bouchard (Open University)
  • Christopher Truman (Bristol)​
  • Kun Yan (Manchester)
  • Ralf​ Ziesche (UCL)
  • John Brokx & Mushfiqur Rahman (OU/ILL)
  • Cui Er Seow (Bristol)
  • Dirk Visser (Loughborough)
  • Di Wen (Cambridge)​

Chemistry & Catalysis (Session organisers: Ian Silverwood, ISIS; Peter Fouquet, ILL)

  • Joao Cabral (Imperial)
  • Ivana Evans (Durham)
  • Sabrina Gaertner (ISIS)
  • S​ihai Yang (Manchester)
  • Tony Tamtoegl (Graz, Austria)​
  • Duncan Gregory (Glasgow)
  • Christian Pfrang (Birmingham)
  • Marta Falkowska (Manchester)
We look forward to seeing you in Warwick very shortly!.​

Contact: King, Philip (STFC,RAL,ISIS)