UK Neutron & Muon Science and User Meeting (NMSUM) 2024
12 Apr 2024



The UK Neutron & Muon Science and User Meeting will take place at the University of Warwick Conference Centre from 10-12 April 2024

NMSUM 2023 attendees at the Warwick Conference Centre

​​​​​Attendees at the 2023 NMSUM meeting at Warwick​


​​​This meeting, jointly organised by the IoP/RSC Neutron Scattering Group,​ ISIS and ILL, is a chance for UK users of neutrons and muons to hear about latest science using these techniques, together with facility updates and other news of interest to the community. It will take place in the University of Warwick Conferenc​e Centre. The meeting normally attracts over 300 neutron and muon users.​

The structure of the meeting will be:​​

  • Wednesday 10 April​ (11am onwards)Student Day
  • A chance for students who are using neutrons or muons in their projects to meet other students, learn more about neutron and muon techniques and present their work.
  • Thursday 11 April (9am onwards): Science Day
  • Plenary talks together with parallel sessions based around five themes.  A chance to hear latest results from members of the community
  • Friday 12 April (9am - 1pm followed by lunch​​​):​ User Day
  • Facility updates and other news of interest to ISIS and ILL users.

A detailed programme will be available nearer to the meeting date.

The meeting is free to attend for researchers at UK universities, and reasonable travel costs will be reimbursed.

Registration is now open - Please use this link to register for the meeting

Registration will close on 15 March 2024

Confirmed speakers to-date

Plenary talks:
Katharina Edkins (Strathclyde)
Elizabeth Blackburn (Lund)
Facility updates:
Roger Eccleston (ISIS Director)​
Giovanna Fragneto (ESS Science Director)
Ken Anderse​n (ILL Director)

​​Science day sessions​
​Breakout session theme
​Confirmed invited speakers
Energy and functional materials
Chairs: Donna Arnold (Kent), Koji Yokoyama (ISIS)
​Paz Vaquerio (Reading)
Vishal Shah (Warwick)
Hamish Yeung (Birmingham)
Thomas Aston (UCL)
​Magnetism and superconductivity
Chairs: Alex Gibbs (St Andrews), Andrew Wildes (ILL)

Jennifer Graham (PSI)
Simon Cassidy (Oxford)
Rhea Stewart (ISIS)
Matthew Coak (Birmingham)
Molecular systems and catalysis 
Chairs: Małgorzata Swadźba-Kwaśny (Belfast), Peter Fouquet (ILL)

​Fabrizia Foglia (UCL)
Stuart James (Queen's Belfast)
John Proctor (Salford)
Peter Fouquet (ILL)
​Biosciences and soft matter 
Chairs: Richard Campbell (Manchester), Becky Welbourn (ISIS)

​Alessandra Luchini (Perugia)
Edwin Johnson (Sheffield)
Thomas McCoy (Cambridge)
Federica Sebastiani (Copenhagen)​
Engineering, imaging and cultural h​eritage
Chairs: Biao Cai (Birmingham), Anna Fedrigo (ILL)
​Tan Sui (Surrey)
Alexander Evans (BAM)
Claudia Mondelli (ILL)
Maria Paula Marques (Coimbra)



Contact: King, Philip (STFC,RAL,ISIS)