Nominations open for the 2020 BTM Willis Prize
18 Jun 2020



The IOP Neutron Scattering Group and the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemists awards an annual prize for outstanding neutron scattering science in honour of the founding chairman of the Neutron Scattering Group, Professor BTM Willis.



The prize is awarded to an individual in recognition of a single outstanding piece of work, or a longer term coherent body of work, in the application of neutron scattering to a significant problem in physics, chemistry, materials science, earth science, the life sciences, or engineering, or alternatively in recognition of a major development in neutron scattering instrumentation or techniques.

The recipient of the prize will normally be a young scientist, i.e. in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks) following the award of a first degree, and who has made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of physics / Chemistry / Biology in the UK or Ireland.

Nominations can be made to the NSG Secretary Dr Kathi Edkins (, self-nominations will not be considered. Upon nomination, the candidate is required to submit two additional, separate letters of support as well as a current CV of no longer than three pages. All documents must be received by the NSG Secretary before the deadline 23:59 Monday 31st July 2020.

In case of any questions, please contact the NSG (​

Contact: Fletcher, Sara (STFC,RAL,BID)